Review: Lucas by Jay McLean

October 27, 2017 Book Review, New Adult, Young Adult 6 ★★★★

I received this book for free from Bought in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

LucasLucas by Jay McLean
Published by Self-pub on November 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fiction, New Adult, Romance, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Bought
Buy the Book
In a sprint, every millisecond counts.
When you’re waiting for love, those milliseconds can feel like eons.

High school senior Lucas Preston has it all: star of the track team, a scholarship waiting for him, an apartment to himself and a revolving door of girlfriends. He also has an older sister, five younger brothers and a father who relies on him to make sure those brothers don’t kill each other.
His saving grace? Lois “Laney” Sanders, a girl he started to fall in like with when he was just eleven.
A girl who became his best friend, his confidant, his courage.

It took only sixteen clicks and eight seconds for Lucas to realize that his like for Laney had turned into love.
Eight life-changing seconds.
It’s also the exact length of time it took to lose her.

I’ve sort of been in a reading rut the past couple months. Lucas came at exactly the right time with so many things I adore all rolled into one story- friends to more romance, angst, and an amazing family dynamic.

Lois, or ‘Laney’ as she is nicknamed by the Prestons, has had a long standing crush on her best friend, Lucas. Unbeknownst to her, he feels the same way. Just when they think they could have it all together, miscommunication drives them apart and threatens the friendship they built. The chapters flip flop between the present and goes back starting from when they first met years ago as both characters try to repair what was damaged despite outside obstacles that get in the way.

I was pretty drawn in right from the get-go with a Prologue that definitely grabs your attention and hints at some serious drama to come. The story doesn’t take the typical route for the friends to more trope and I appreciated that. Things are not easy between the two and there is a good bit of angst going on. Despite the mistakes made by both, they were such good-hearted people and obviously so in love with each other. I loved that despite how bad things got they always made their way back to each other.

One of my very favorite aspects of the novel was the family life on both sides and how close they all were together. The Prestons are a large family (Lucas is one of 7 children) and as one of the oldest, Lucas is a huge role model and parental figure. I loved their banter and devotion to each other and each sibling had a great personality that added so much to the overall storytelling. I love when a positive family dynamic is shown and what makes it even better is knowing that I will see more of the Prestons as the series continues with another sibling!

I can’t say much more without giving spoilers but I definitely recommend this read for fans of YA and NA both. It’s a great romance that’s well-rounded with drama and heart while also tackling some serious issues facing the characters. I can’t wait to read the next installment, Logan!

“One day, Lucas, you’re going to fall in love with a girl, like your father fell in love with me, and you’ll understand.” “Understand what?” I asked. “That it’s not about the dance. It’s about moving, as one, with a person whose heart beats to the same rhythm as yours. It’s about love, about life.”

 

About Jay McLean

Jay McLean is an international best-selling author and full-time reader, writer of New Adult Romance, and most of all, procrastinator. When she’s not doing any of those things, she can be found running after her two little boys, playing house and binge watching Netflix.
She writes what she loves to read, which are books that can make her laugh, make her hurt and make her feel.

Jay lives in the suburbs of Melbourne, Australia, in a forever half-done home where music is loud and laughter is louder.

Sara @ Forever 17 Books

6 Responses to “Review: Lucas by Jay McLean”

  1. Nina

    Sounds great! I just love the sound of this book, but a highschooler with an own appartment? really? wow. Or did I just read that wrong and is that waiting for him after graduation? I love that the book has also family life it. I always enjoy reading about a big family. I think I will add it to the kindle tbr list. 🙂
    Nina recently posted…The Hidden Legacy by Christine ReesMy Profile

  2. Ellie Di

    I read only “More than This” by Jay, but a series about 7 brothers is what I need now…the story seems nice, I think I’ll give it a try!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge